ENA – Mule Mouth (Extended Version)

Following his three 12-inches on 7even Recordings, Japanese producer ENA is readying his first album Bilateral on the label. If the rest sounds as exciting as the track above, I believe it’s something to look forward to. You can download this 12-minute bass experimentation for free, choose between MP3 or the Wave version. The album will be out on April 17th, you can pre-order your copy from Boomkat and various Japanese record stores.

Weekend Mixtapes

It’s weekend time, so here’s a selection of mixtapes I mentioned this week on Twitter.

French label 7even Recordings launched their own podcast series and they kick off with a mix by ENA, whose new 12-inch was only released the other day.

The second release on Jacques Greene’s Vase label comes from London duo Arclight and they’ve done an interview and guest mix for Dazed Digital.

King Britt has been releasing music under so many names, it’s hard to keep up. He just released a new EP on Hyperdub under his Fhloston Paradigm moniker and promotes it with a guestmix for FACT.

As Run Dem Crew is getting ready for the Berlin half-marathon, their founding member Morgan Zarate has done a 20-minutes mix for running.

I wish I had the time to keep up with radio shows, but here’s one I have to recommend. Tim’s You’ll Soon Know is on every Monday night and on his latest show his guests are Om Unit and Laurent Fintoni.

And lastly, check this 2003 Four Tet for Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide.

7even Exclusives

Having reached its 20th release, Tokyo’s 7even Recordings has good reason to celebrate. To make you feel invited, the label decided to give away a free mini-compilation. On it you’ll find five tracks from the likes of F, Joaan, Helixir, Likhan and Ena.

01. Likhan – The Dawn
02. Helixir – Cooly Groove
03. F – Mind The Gap
04. Ena – Come With Me
05. Joaan – Bats & Birds

You can listen to the full tracks above or head over to Bandcamp to get your free download.

(via Sonic Router)

F – Phase Two

Produced around the time when Phase One saw a release on 12-inch, Florent Aupetit aka F decided to give away this previously unreleased tune.

Download might be limited, so you better hurry and grab yourself this fine track!

F – Exploration Music Podcast

Paris based dubstep producer F has put together a new mixtape, this time for the city’s own Exploration Music podcast.01. Dogboy – Vishnu
02. Boddika – Boddika’s House
03. Peverelist & Hyetal – The Hum
04. F – Slowdown
05. Likhan – Boxin’
06. Boddika – Syn Chron
07. Scuba – Latch (Will Saul and Mike Monday remix)
08. Addison’s Groove – Sexual
09. F – Odyssey
10. Helixir – Summer Time
11. Bloodman – Remote Viewing
12. ENA – Instinctive
13. Peverelist & Hyetal – Rrrr
14. PH2 – Fortress
15. Model 500 – Starlight
16. JOAAN – Nocturnality
17. F – Mind The Gap

Expect the usual dose of deep dubstep vibes, including lots of unreleased music from 7even Recordings. Here’s a direct link to the MP3 file.

Joaan – 7even Minus10 Mix

French label 7even Recordings has got another great mixtape to offer, this time put together by their latest signing Joann. With tracks from Floating Points, Sbtrkt, Pariah or Seiji, it sports many of my favourites from this year.

01. Sbtrkt – 2020
02. Roska – Messages
03. Mosca – Square One (Julio Bashmore remix)
04. Seiji – Elevator
05. Floating Points – Shark Chase
06. Joy Orbison – The Shrew Would Have Cushioned The Blow
07. Sbtrkt – Jamlock
08. Joaan – 115 State
09. Shlomi Aber – Create Balance
10. Joaan – Save The Salt Men (Drums Edit)
11. Marcel Dettmann – Captivate
12. Conforce – Another Walk Around
13. Pariah – Orpheus
14. Joaan – Splendor In The Grass

Also featured on the mix are both tracks from Joaan’s upcoming 12-inch on the label. Download here!

Weekly Bits 15/2010

Let’s start the latest weekly bits with a remainder from the previous week. The Roots played enough cover-versions of Dilla Joints to fill an album, but they decided to give those away for free!

Another full-lengtt is available for streaming, it’s Christian Prommer’s Drumlesson Zwei, which is now out on CD and MP3 through !K7.

This week has also saw the release of the anticipated new album from Matthew Herbert, the first in his ONE Trilogy.

The other week I have mentioned a teaser to Behind Closed Doors 2, a documentary on young beatmakers such as K15, FS Green, BUG, Sir OJ and many others. Check out this new and extended trailer.

You have probably seen this article on Information Is Beautiful, as it circulated quite a lot. It’s basically a picture of pie charts showing how much musicians earn on the internet. Quite sad!

Lastly, here are a couple of mixtapes for you. Kyle Hall uploaded his guest-mix for Mary Anne Hobbs’ radioshow. Hoya:Hoya celebrated the launch of their blog with a live-recording from Daedelus. 7even Recordings boss Greg recorded the Modulation Mix with new and exclusive music from the label.

F – See the Light

The debut album from French dubstep producer Florent Aupetit will be out on March 15. Two EPs with album tracks are already available on vinyl, a third and final EP will drop together with the digital release. Here is a video for the track “See the Light”, directed by DBKN.

While we’re at it, let’s have a look at the album’s tracklist.01. Intro
02. Shift *
03. Poka
04. Energy Distortion
05. Another Place *
06. 0907
07. See The Light
08. Forever
09. Hologram *
10. On The Corner
11. Chillin’
12. Spacewalker
13. Perspectives

* CD Exclusive Tracks

Boomkat still has copies of the first two EPs (Part 1 and Part 2), get them while you can!

F – SRQ010 Mix

F is not only a great name to stay under the radar of every search engine out there, it’s also the name of one of my favourite dubstep producers. For the latest Sonic Router tab on The Quietus, the French producer has put together a mixtape of dark vibes ranging from techno to dubstep.01. Untold & LV – Beacon
02. Helixir – Untitled
03. Instra:Mental – Vicodine
04. Jus Wan – Untitled
05. Headhunter – Evolver
06. F – Chillin’
07. J. Sparrow – The Fullest
08. Ruckspin & Quantum Soul – Venus Project
09. James Fox – Put It Back (Ramadanman Refix)
10. F – Hologram
11. J.Sparrow – Untitled
12. DJG – Avoid The Noid
13. DJG – Avoid The Noid (Headhunter Remix)
14. F – Funk Injection

I’d say go for the download download, press play and read that article.

F – February 2010 Studio Mix

A techy selection of dubstep was put together by 7even Recording‘s very own F. It’s almost all unreleased tracks on this one, featuring new music from Jus Wan, Headhunter, Scuba and F himself.01. The Sisters of Transistors – Solar Disco (Untold Remix)
02. Ruckspin & Visionz – Give
03. F – 0907
04. Jus Wan – Azure (F Remix)
05. Jus Wan – Stand Dub
06. Scuba – You Got Me
07. Pangaea – Sunset Yellow
08. Distal – Attempt @ Yellow
09. Headhunter & Gatekeeper – Jellyfish
10. F – Perspectives – 7even Recordings
11. Headhunter & Matt-U – The Chosen One

You can download this here and show some love there.