Machinedrum – aeolia

Created by Warp Records in 2004 as follow-up to their Warpmart online store, Bleep will be celebrating its 10th anniversary with a compilation full of exclusive music. Among the artists contributing is New York’s Machinedrum, whose track aeolian is one of the first you can listen to upfront (the other being by Fuck Buttons.)

Other contributors include Shackleton, Dabrye, Lone, Nosaj Thing, Oneohtrix Point Never and others. And while Bleep: 10 won’t be available before May 10, 2014, you can instantly download both tracks available for preview when pre-ordering a copy. It will be available on 2-LP vinyl, CD and digital download, all wrapped up in a beautifully sleeve designed by Give Up Art.

Bleep Podcast by Sonic Router

Bleep have just unveiled their new podcast series and they kick off with a mix by Sonic Router‘s own Oli Marlow. If you’re familiar with the SR blog, you know you’re in best hands when it comes to dubstep and other bass-heavy genres.01. Flying Lotus – Pie Face
02. Dam Mantle – Grey
03. Dibiase – Circuit Breakin
04. Solar Bears – Solarization
05. Blue Daisy – Blood Petal Roses (Remix)
06. MF DOOM – Go With The Flow (Live)
07. Arp 101 – Dead Leaf
08. James Blake – I Only Know What I Know
09. Zomby – The Forest
10. xxxy – Flew
11. Gold Panda – Before We Talked
12. Modeselektor – VW Jetta
13. Superisk – Find Your Way
14. Pariah – The Slump
15. Velour – Booty Slammer
16. Maddslinky feat. Skream – 50 Shades Of Peng
17. Untold – Fly Girls
18. Optimum – Crash Riddim
19. Ikonika – Shouldn’t Be Here
20. T. Williams – Hard Cash
21. Roska & Untold – Myth

If you’re a downloader, then download already! Everybody else go for the stream over at MixCloud.

Also note that Bleep linked all the included tracks, so you can easily purchase your favourites!

Weekly Bits 34/2010

While I’m not a big fan of the music, the artwork for Skream’s new album Outside the Box is truly remarkable. A nice feature by September Industry.

London’s Mr. Beatnick is back with his follow-up to his Broken Beat Essentials article, just this time he focuses on the great Theo Parrish.

Andrew Meza has posted another gem from the BTS Radio archives, making Domu‘s set from February 2005 available for download!

R&S has a limited repress of James Blake’s CMYK 12-inch on transparent yellow vinyl, be quick if you missed it the first time around.

Dutch director Ramon Gieling has shot a Great Lengths short movie about Martyn‘s deceased father, a prominent football player in the Netherlands.

I got two more videos for you: Aloe Blacc‘s acoustic version of Politician on KEXP, and Danny Krivit talking about The Art of the Edit.

Oh, and just because I feel bad not having posted this 9-hours mixtape by 2000F & J Kamata, I will do so now.

Hudson Mohawke – Snap Dragon

With the Sonar festival starting this weekend, Bleep is giving away their last round of free tracks including this exclusive from Hudson Mohawke.

All you need to download this track is an account on the Bleep store. The track will be available for one week only!

Hudson will play Sonar by Night this Friday, tickets for the night are still available.

Weekly Bits 2/2010

It’s been a while since the last weekly bits, but now that the new website is complete there should be more time for regular posts.

British duo Autechre are back with a new album. It’s their 10th already and it will be released in March on Warp Records. Titled “Oversteps”, it will be available as a deluxe vinyl edition designed by TDR among other formats. They have also announced a tour through Europe, kicking of on March 11.

Another legendary comeback this year is made by Gil Scott-Heron, whose new album I’m New Here will be released on February 8. You can already have a look at his new video for Me and The Devil.

BlastKid has posted a good read on European Jazz for the LaidBack blog. This is only an appetizer for his forthcoming radioshow, in which he will play the music mentioned.

Stuttgart’s Motor City Drum Ensemble has mixed the latest podcast for XLR8R, in which he plays lots of classic house tracks and a few new tunes as well.

You never go wrong paying Sonic Router a visit, but this week was truly exceptional. Following the Best of Ruffage Sessions came an exclusive mix from Blue Daisy, one of the most exciting names to look out for this year.

The Bleep store has announced a most compelling offer this week, for only 30 dollars/euros/pounds you can buy the Top 100 Tracks of 2009. Be quick, the offer is only valid for two weeks!

If you’re looking for some free music instead, have a look at these unreleased demos from Dwele.

From the previous week is the BBC Live Session from Four Tet. Comes with both audio and video.

North / South / East / West

Bleep teamed up with British photographer Shaun Bloodworth and designer Stuart Hammersley (GiveUpArt) to create a “musical and visual document”, titled North / South / East / West (NSEW).

Both artists have built their reputation in the dubstep scene, Bloodworth being the photographer for the iconic album covers from Skream or Benga or the L.A. Dope series. In most cases, Hammersley does the graphics for the mentioned products, but he is also responsible for the (corporate) designs of Tempa, Apple Pips or London’s FWD club.

On 14 prints, NSEW documents artists from the North and South UK and the East and West coast  of the United States. In addition to that comes a CD with 12 tracks from those artists, including Flying Lotus, Daedelus, Hudson Mohawke, FaltyDL and Headhunter among others (full tracklist below).

01. Daedelus – A Bloodworth
02. Hudson Mohawke – FUSE
03.  Geeneus – Ultrafunkula
04. Flying Lotus – Comet Course (Matthew David Alternative Mix)
05. Headhunter – Collecting Butterflies
06. Falty DL – Some Day My Queen Will Come
07. Flying Lotus – Rickshaw
08. Skream – Slumfunk
09. Mike Slott – Giants Meet
10. Kotchy – You Know You
11. Rustie – Bad Science
12. Taz Buckfaster – Au Revoir
The entire package is available in two limited editions, the only difference is the inclusion of an A2 poster. You can pre-order both editions from Bleep, the release-date is December 1st