Weekly Bits 45/2009

Let’s start this post with these video interviews with Mayer Hawthorne and SA-RA. The second is already a bit older but gives some insights on the creative partners.

The anticipated new album from Trus’me will be in stores on December 7, you can listen to snippets from every track on his SoundCloud page.

Another new album comes from my good friend Bruno Morais, who turned his back on his previous electronic productions to produce a very traditional recording of Brazilian music. You can watch his first music video on YouTube.

Detroit based Zo! is giving away his new EP …just visiting too, a collection of cover versions of artists like Minnie Riperton, The Jones Girls or The Isley Brothers.

Here’s one more on Mayer Hawthorne, his label Stones Throw has posted a live-recording of his song The Ills for you to download.

Two years after the release of his album Underwater Dancehall, dubstep producer Pinch is releasing remixes of the track “Get Up”. The track features Bugz in the Attic live vocalist Yolanda, who also lent her voice to Massive Attack before. Here’s a video for the track.

Brainfeeder’s Teebs has designed 100 unique 7-inch sleeves for the new Primary1 single. The artwork is currently exhibited at London’s Rough Trade store, where it is also being sold exclusively.

And lastly, go and visit Werk Discs‘ new website, home to artists like Lukid and Zomby.

Vitrola Mixtape from Bruno Morais

I’ve been asked before, why I’m not featuring some musicians from my country. So, today I present to you Bruno Morais, who is just about to release his second album A Vontade Superstar. The São Paulo based singer, songwriter and producer has put together this little mixtape for journalist Ronaldo Evangelista,. His selection mixes pop and folk, jazz and funk, violins and organs, harpsichords and banjos, Frank Sinatra and Maria Bethania, Nina Simone and Roberto Carlos. And whatever else influenced him on his musical journey.

Bruno Morais


01. Fiona Apple & Jon Brion – Tonight You Belong to Me
02. Maria Bethania – Jesus Cristo
03. Roberto Carlos – E por isso estou aqui
04. Taj Mahal – Stealin’
05. Caetano Veloso – Mamãe Natureza
06. Amelinha – Galope Razante
07. Nina Simone – The Pusher
08. Macy Gray – Every Now and Then
09. Gal Costa – Qual é, baiana?
10. Frank Sinatra – River, Stay Away From My Door

The album will be out in Brazil in May, and features Tony Chang (of Fat Freddy’s Drop fame), Anya, Romulo Fróes and other musicians from Brazil. A worldwide release is to follow later this year, in the meantime you can listen to some of the tracks on Bruno’s MySpace page.