Blazt Off Mix by Kutmah

This Master Blazter mixtape has been around for quite some time, but I only came across this through Computer Jay‘s SoundCloud page. Master Blazter is a Los Angeles based collective of Dâm-Funk, J1 and Computer Jay.

01. J1 – Water
02. Computer Jay – Funktronic
03. J1 – Feel in The Blank
04. Dâm-Funk – Just Wanna Ride
05. J1 – Rescue – J1
06. Dâm-Funk – Show Me The Way
07. Dâm-Funk – She Lights Me Up
08. J1 – Slang Talk
09. J1 – 44th Chamber
10. Dâm-Funk – I Don’t Just Do Beats..I Do music
11. Computer Jay – Thunder Horns
12. Computer Jay – I was Wrong..I Take It Back
13. Computer Jay – Maintain
14. Computer Jay – Visa Stamp
15. Computer Jay – Whip
16. J1 – Sunny
17. Computer Jay – Bearclaw
18. Computer Jay – Phantom

Click to download the mix and make sure to leave a comment on SoundCloud.

Happy Birthday, Flying Lotus

Last week, the mighty Flying Lotus celebrated his birthday. What better way to celebrate is there, but invite some friends in and play some music with them.

That’s what the the people at ArtDontSleep must have thought, so they invited Exile, Shafiq Husayn, Stephen Thundercat Bruner, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Computer Jay, Isaac Smith, Jim Lang, Alla Koi, Andres Renteria, Matthew David and The Gaslamp Killer to get together for a jam session.

Echo Park Jam Sessions © Grace Oh

Luckily, this Birthday Jam was recorded and properly mixed. You can listen to 33 minutes from that in the player above or download it to your iPod.

I also want to remember you of similar jam sessions, that I mentioned here before: the Love Supreme LA Jam with Mark de Clive-Lowe and the Skid Row AM Session.

Mixtape Monday #5

The Brainfeeder label always guarantees a great selection of music, their latest mixtape is called Brain Food and was put together by Alex B. If you like that I can already tell you want the FACT Podcast by Débruit as well.

Joscha Creutzfeld of UpMyAlley posted a mixtape made for RBMA Radio in 2007 on SoundCloud titled Lost and Found. This should make the waiting for the follow-up to his more recent Brrappness Mix a bit easier.

A very cool mix comes from Computer Jay, that is if you grew up in the eighties and you miss the sounds of your Atari 2600.

Citinite and LuckyMe are joining forces for a very special event in November, featuring Dâm-Funk, Rustie and Jimmy Edgar. To get you in the mood for that, check the mixtape they put together for The Fader.

House producer Mark E not only has a very beautiful looking website, you might also want to check out the mixes he has posted there, including the all new Merc Mix #1.

Lastly, here’s an older mix from Detroit legend Juan Atkins, which was recorded at the 12th anniversary party of Berlin’s equally legendary Tresor.