Darkstar – A Day’s Pay For A Day’s Work

It always seemed to me that Darkstar‘s second album didn’t live up to the expectations many people had, but personally I count it to my favourite records of the year. With a new video by Lucy Luscombe, an upcoming series of remix EPs and autumn flexing its muscles, this is probably a good time to give it another chance. Wait, did I just slip in some valuable information about new remixes into the middle of a sentence? It’s true, according to XLR8R there will be several EPs of album tracks remixed by the likes of of Zomby, Motor City Drum Ensemble, and Darkstar themselves and others. Unfortunately, no release dates were disclosed at this time. Back to the video then!

Darkstar – Amplified Ease

Since the release of Aidy’s Girl Is A Computer in 2009, Darkstar have grown from a duo to three-man-band, released a much acclaimed debut album on Hyperdub, and more recently signed to Warp Records. Their follow-up album News From Nowhere will be out in about 2 weeks time and they’ve just released the video you can see above. Oh, apparently it was filmed in the same tank as the opening scene of Skyfall (if that does anything to you…)

You can pre-order the new album Rough Trade (bonus CD included), Bleep and iTunes, or stream the full record for the time being.

FACT Mix by Darkstar

On the occasion of their 200th podcast, FACT Magazine asked no other than Hyperdub’s Darkstar to contribute to their series. And it’s a beautiful journey through their influences and more recent favourites, held together by a sound similiar to the trio’s recent debut North. With music ranging from film composer Alexandre Desplat to Burial, from Radiohead to Actress.

01. Alexandre Desplat – Les Reves
02. Matthew Dear – Slowdance
03. Moodymann – It’s 2 Late 4 You & Me
04. Radiohead – Kid A
05. Commix – Be True (Burial Remix)
06. Games – Heartlands
07. New Order – Get Out
08. Darkstar – Gold Version .1′
09. Shed – HDRT
10. Interlude
11. Funkin Even – Must Move
12. Machinedrum – Maybe
13. Crime Kills Kids – I don’t Love Her
14. Alexandre Desplat – Un Prophete
15. Actress – Get Ohn
16. Twin Shadow – Tether Beat
17. Jimmie Dale Gilmore – Mack The Knife
18. Sq….
19. Darkstar – In The Wings

As usual, the download is available for a limited time only. Though it might pop up in FACT’s archive on MixCloud sooner or later.

Darkstar – Gold

Taken from their forthcoming album North on Hyperdub, Darkstar‘s cover of “You Remind Me Of Gold” by Human League is the trio’s first single.

To create this video, director Evan Boehm used a structured light scanner for the 3D light points of Darkstar’s heads, imagery from The National Library of Medicine and a custom made particles software. More details on the process can be found here.

Expect the single in store November 8, backed up by a remix from John Roberts.

Darkstar – North

Darkstar - North

Cover Artwork

For the Hyperdub 5 compilation, Darkstar delivered one of the biggest tunes of 2009: Aidy’s Girl Is A Computer. This year will see the release of the duo’s debut album North.01. In The Wings
02. Gold
03. Deadness
04. Aidy’s Girl Is A Computer
05. Under One Roof
06. 2 Chords
07. North
08. Ostkreuz
09. Dear Heartbeat
10. When It’s Gone

North is little less than two months away, with a release date of October 18, 2010. Here is an interview by Kode9 with Darkstar’s James Young, while Shook Magazine offers a first review.