Egyptian Hip Hop – Tobago

Alongside Vondelpark and Bullion, Egyptian Hip Hop represent the more band-like artists among R&S‘ roster of dominantly UK techno or, erm, post-dubstep producers. The track Tobago is taken from their debut album Good Don’t Sleep and comes with the announcement for a European tour starting off later this month.

James Creed – Top Pocket EP

Berlin-based producer James Creed provides the third release on the emergent Odd Socks record label. Since the first two releases by Josh T and Glenn Astro & IMYRMIND were so well received, it’s not a surprise that Top Pocket is another good one.

On the forefront of soulful, deep and leftfield house music the EP contains lazy grooves, sweet melancholy and crisp percussion which already led to the support from the likes of Axel Boman, Homework and Casino Times, just to name a few.

You can purchase the limited 10” vinyl via Phonica or get the digital release at Beatport.

Huess – A Meaningless Rain

It have been busy days lately, but finally work rests over the holidays to come. Many emails caught up in my inbox during the abscence, one of them was the announcement for a new Huess EP. We haven’t heard any of his music since last summer’s Discards, but his latest holds six originals and it’s available for free.

And if you missed it before, let me also recommend the podcast Huess made for us earlier this year!

Jonti – Christmas Worm

Californian Stones Throw and Serato teamed up for the second time to release two limited edition timecode records. Also featured on those are eight exclusive tracks from the label roster, including the one above: Jonti‘s Christmas Worm. One of my favourite artists on the label and, well, it’s Christmas time so why not post this tune?

The vinyl bundle is probably a pricey option for non-Serato owners, but if you can’t resist, you can buy this from Rush Hour or HHV. Release date is December 21, 2012.

Zanshin – Muddle In The Middle

First Affine Records doesn’t release any music for a year, then they push out two quality releases within 2 months: Sixtus Preiss and Ogris Debris. Seems like the Viennese label warmed up properly to throuw in a third one by Zanshin, one half of the before-mentioned Ogris Debris. The only difference lies in the format, his new EP is a digital-only release, but the quality is high as usual. Muddle in the Middle came out on 12/12/12 and you can buy the two tracker directly from the label, Boomkat or iTunes.

Hieroglyphic Being – The Lost Transmission

Wow. What a heavy tune, easily the most genuine techno I’ve heard in a very long time. Chicago-based Jamal Moss aka Hieroglyphic Being first released The Lost Transmission on a highly limited CD-R back in 2010. More recently it made its premier on vinyl, thanks to the guys at Morphine Records. Copies are selling fast, but there are some left at Hardwax and Sounds of the Universe. Big up to RJC for the tip!

Old Apparatus – Mernom

Old Apparatus and their Sullen Tone label have been personal favourites of 2012 for a variety of reasons. They’re one of the few artists whose anonymity is actually surrounded by some mysticism, which has not only to do with their type of sound, but also with the visual style found on their website and the striking cover artwork of their last four EPs. Here’s some true artistry defined by its work, not just another producer hiding behind a mask for the thrill of it.

The track Mernom is taking from the latest 12-inch Harem, which you can find on Bleep or Boomkat.

Nautic – Fixxx

Following releases on One-Handed Music and R&S, London’s Bullion started his own label Deek Recordings earlier this year. The second release is a 7-inch by Nautic, a trio consisting of Tic, Laura Groves and Bullion himself. The record will be in stores starting December 3, 2012, pre-orders are available from Boomkat and Rush Hour. Digital buyers will be able to get it directly from the label.

Ogris Debris – Around Here (Sixtus Preiss Remix)

A couple of days ago, we mentioned the forthcoming Next Life EP by Austrian duo Ogris Debris and posted one of its remixes. With only one day to go until you can buy the record (the digital is already out), label-mate Sixtus Preiss has uploaded his own remix to his SoundCloud page. Fans of Hudson Mohawke, don’t sleep on this one!

Ogris Debris – Next Life

Not long after their last release by Sixtus Preiss, Viennese label Affine Records is already preparing its next one. The new EP comes from Ogris Debris, a duo formed by Daniel Kohlmeigner and Gregor Ladenhauf, occasional favourites on Gilles Peterson’s playlists. For me the highlights are both remixes, provided by The Reboot Joy Confession (listen above) and the already mentioned Sixtus Preiss.01. Next Life
02. Next Life (Radio Edit)*
03. Next Life (The Reboot Joy Confession´s Blodge Remake)
04. Around Here
05. Around Here (Sixtus Preiss Remix)
06. Around Here (Slowjam)*

* digital only The vinyl is already up for pre-order on the Affine website. You should be able to pick it up at your favourite record store starting December 6 November 26, 2012.

November 25, 2012 Also, don’t sleep on the other remix by Sixtus Preiss

Medlar – Knockhard Pearl

We ever so often posted music by Klic (including this podcast), but most people might know his under his Medlar disguise under which released mainly on Wolf Music. His next on the label is his first solo EP, titled Knockheard Pearl, coming out shortly. Above you can watch the official video, and there’s also a free remix by Bicep.

Alice Russell – Heartbreaker (FaltyDL Remix)

It’s no secret that NYC’s Drew Lustman (aka FaltyDL) has a crush on broken beat and you could hear that in some of his previous productions. His latest is a remix for Alice Russell (oh, btw) coming out today on Brighton’s Tru Thoughts. You can buy the Heartbreaker EP, including another remix by Parisian Yakine, on Bleep or iTunes.

Merz – The Hunting Owl (Dimlite Re-Hunt)

A look at his Discogs page quickly reveals the number of Dimlite remixes available. I have to admit I was a bit surprised, though I have most of these sitting in my shelf I didn’t think it were that many, though there aren’t too many. There are of course his brilliant re-interpretations of Carlos Niño, Ahu, Flying Lotus, Ritornell, Found, or his own Misel Quitno moniker.

Since November 11, there’s a new one, the track you can hear above, a remix for Merz on Matthew Herbert’s Accidental Records. Looks like a digital-only release, but that does not mean you can’t buy it.

Sotu the Traveller – Release & Rewind (Saux Remix)

Amsterdam’s Sotu the Traveller teamed up with singer Ninthe to work on the soundtrack for Nina Simone (A)Live, a tribute to Nina Simone. The outcome is the 7-track Eunice EP, which you can download for free on Bandcamp. One of my favourite tracks is the Saux remix you can hear above, also check out the video for the original version of the tune.

Wiley/Pritchard – Scar/Money Man

Wiley/Prichard - Scar/Money Man

Cover Artwork

Earlier this year, when Wiley’s Evolve Or Be Extinct came out, I asked how long we had to wait for his collaboration with Mark Pritchard. Scar premiered on Benji B’s Best of 2009 show and it took full two years until it was released as part of the album. Well, to be honest I didn’t care too much for the album and was secretly hoping this would happen: a 12-inch with both of the Pritchard produced tracks. Eventually, it happened!

1. Scar
2. Money Man (Harmonic 313 Remix)
3. Scar (Instrumental)
4. Money Man (Instrumental)
5. Money Man (Harmonic 313 Remix Instrumental)

As you can see, there are five tracks on the digital release. The 12-inch only comes with four, leaving out the original instrumental of Money Man. Shouldn’t matter that much, as both Ninja Tune and Bleep add the files to the vinyl purchase. Out on October 15, 2012 – that’s after this weekend on Monday!