Sons of the Morning – Speak Soon Volume One

We don’t think that any fans of Prefuse73 or Teebs will truly need a reminder of the forthcoming Sons of the Morning EP, but if you do, we will gladly provide that service. Titled Speak Soon Volume One, the 7-track record is only about a week from release on the Prefuse73-founded Yellow Year label. Following an earlier teaser, the label shared this 11-minute video with further snippets from the EP. Again, that will be out next week or October 1st, 2013. And while we’re at it, we would like to remind you of the duo’s Boiler Room appearance from last year!

September 27, 2013 You can stream the entire EP over at Noisey

XLR8R Podcast by Prefuse 73

The last time I heard a mixtape from Prefuse 73 was in January 2012, unless you count in that Sons of the Morning live set which is also older than a year. Before that, I remember one that came along The Only She Chapters in 2011 and another from 2009. It’s clear there aren’t too many available, so we’re excited about a new one for the latest XLR8R podcast, featuring music from some of our favourite records this year and some forthcoming music on his own Yellow Year imprint.

XLR8R Podcast by Prefuse 73 (download)
01. Prefuse 73 – Intro
02. Thundercat – We’ll Die
03. Lapalux – Dance (feat. Astrid Williamson)
04. Robert Koch – So Bad (Synkro Dub Mix)
05. Nosaj Thing – Tell/Timetable)
06. Kelpe – Single Strips (Chesslo Junior Remix)
07. Prefuse 73 & Machinedrum – The Only Scarf
08. JJ Doom – Bookfiend (Clams Casino Mix)
09. Shigeto – Olivia
10. Moderat – llona
11. Teebs & Prefuse 73 (Sons of the Morning) – The Way That Winter Passed Us
12. FKA Twigs – Water Me
13. Mount Kimbie – Bave’s Chords
14. Lapalux – Flower
15. Shigeto – Ritual Howl
16. Triangle Method – Cloud Cover Mirrors
17. King Krule – Baby Blue
18. Andy Stott – Leaving
19. Boards of Canada – Sundown

As usual, this podcast comes in two formats – hHead over to the XLR8R website to make your choice.

Sons Of The Morning Live at Boiler Room

The guys behind Boiler Room have done it again, for the third appearance in Los Angeles they invited the Sons Of The Morning, the latest project by Prefuse 73 and Brainfeeder’s Teebs.

A video recording is also available on YouTube, or you can download the set after subscribing to the Boiler Room podcast!

Prefuse 73 + Zola Jesus – The Misanthrope Meditation

The new album by Prefuse 73 is only a little more than a week away from its release. As a reminder, he and album collaborator Zola Jesus have put together a mixtape you can hear below.

01. Edward Williams – Life On Earth Begins In The Sun’s Energy
02. Charles Dodge – He Destroyed Her Image
03. Piero Umiliani Percussions – Jeunesse Problematique
04. Pril Smiley – Koloyosa
05. Demdike Stare – Quiet Sky
06. Otto Luening – Incantaion
07. Broadcast+The Focus Group – The Song Before
08. Ingram Marshall – Cortez
09. Piero Umiliani – Danza Galattica
10. Giampiero Boneschi – Psycho Analysis Lesson
11. Phonophani – Nold
12. Antonio Russolo – Corale
13. Tim Hecker – Hatred Of Music II
14. Leb Laze – Static Radiates
15. William Gum-Boot & Lawrence Wiffin – Pathetic
16. Sam Spence – Moon Shot #27
17. Bruno Nicolai – Il Ritratto Di Evelyn
18. Vaclav Nelhybel – Vibrations In Outer Space
19. Robotika. Brainticket
20. Laurie Spiegel – Appalachian Grove I
21. Aggitation Free – Dialogue+Random
22. Bruce Hack – Haackula # 9
23. Alps – Marzipan
24. Vladimir Ussachevsky – Wireless Fantasy
25. Alps – Telepathe
26. Mordant Music – Minor Pete
27. The Last Outro

If that’s your cup of tea, you can download it for repeated listens. Let me also remind you of that free track taken from the album.

Savath y Savalas Album and Interview

While Guillermo Scott Herren is best known under the name of Prefuse 73, he is also collaborating with other musicians from all over the world. I have previously mentioned an album with Dimlite (in production), and I heard about one or the other alias, but Savath y Savalas were entirely new to me – despite several releases on Warp Records!


Savath y Savalas is a collaboration between Scott Herren, Catalan Eva Puyuelo Muns and Roberto Carlos Lange from Ecuador. Their fifth studio album La Llama will be released on Stones Throw in May 2009. However, a digital release will be out on Monday next week.

The title track of La Lllama is now available as free download, alongside a short interview with Guillermo about influences on the album and (euh?) Catalan Acid Folk.

Mar 16, 2009 The digital download is now exclusively available from Stones Throw