Py – Tripping on Wisdom

London-based vocalist Py released a mixtape last Monday featuring eight collaborations with producers that have been featured here every now and then: Throwing Snow (with whom she also recorded Wallow), Damu and George FitzGerald among others.

01. Wonderful World Interlude
02. Lungs (produced by George FitzGerald)
Whispers (produced by iO)
Black Magic (produced by Kadabrah)
05. Crowns (produced by Greenwood Sharps)
Blind (produced by Damu)
07. These Strings (produced by Throwing Snow)
Marigold (produced by Black and White Diamond Tiles)
09. Withdraw the Ambassador (produced by bretonLabs)

All of this runs for about 36 minutes and is available as a free download. In order to get it, you need a Facebook account and become a fan.

XLR8R Podcast by Throwing Snow

Throwing Snow has been on my radar for a while now, at least since he released the broken beat flashback that was Un Vingt on Alexander Nut’s Ho_Tep label. His following releases reflected a wide interest in genres, as does his new mixtape for the XLR8R podcast.

XLR8R Podcast by Throwing Snow

XLR8R Podcast by Throwing Snow (download)
01. Myown – You Can Stop Everytime
02. Floating Points – ARP3
03. Mario & Vidis – Ryyk
04. Gold Panda – You Gone Do Something
05. Laurel Halo – Metal Confection (Oneohtrix Point Never Edit)
06. Throwing Snow – Clamor
07. Raffertie – Courage Boy
08. Murder He Wrote – Your Code
09. DJ PM – O Ultimo Grito
10. Kuedo – Take Off (Remix)
11. Dam Mantle – Her Woes
12. Jon Hopkins – Unknown
13. Throwing Snow – Too Polite
14. ∇nknown ShΔpes – The World Keeps Turning
15. Kaba Blon – Moribayassa
16. Kuhn – Slime Beach (Phillip D Kick Remix)
17. Askella – Dark Child
18. Vessel – Blowback
19. Ratatat – Bilar
20. Lady G – Popin

As always, you can choose between two file formats: MP3 and M4A

Weekly Bits 41/2011

As John Cale is about to release a new album on Domino, he talked to The Quietus about Stockhausen, Velvet Underground, Warhol and the present day.

In all quietness, I’ve added the second part of Erykah Badu‘s Out My Mind Movement video to the original post. Thought I’d let you know!

The King Midas Sound mix for FACT Magazine is one of those that stayed on my iPod since it came out two years ago. Glad they are back with a new one for Dummy Mag.

More recommended mixtapes are Mixmag’s Mix of the Week by Brighton based Greymatter, and Throwing Snow‘s exclusive mix for Dazed Digital.

I’ve kept my favourite finding to end this post: Mikuś Musik uploaded some truly classic radioshows, all of them aired around the year 2000. These include 4hero sitting in for Gilles Peterson, Phil Asher talking to Dominic Jacobson about the first Modaji LP (!), and shows from IG Culture, Patrick Forge and Kirk Degiorgio. You need each and every one of these shows!

Throwing Snow & Py – Wallow

Following last year’s debut on Alexander Nut’s Ho_Tep label, Throwing Snow is back with a new release on Super Recordings. Featuring the vocals of Py, here’s a video for Wallow directed by Megan Sharp.

01. Throwing Snow & Py – Wallow
02. Throwing Snow & Py – The Shadows I Make (feat. Russell Morgan)
03. Throwing Snow & Py – As The Rain Spits
04. Throwing Snow & Py – Nettles And Gangs
05. Throwing Snow & Py – Wallow (Lapalux Remix)
06. Throwing Snow & Py – Wallow (PhOtOmachine’s Underground Haus Mix)
07. Throwing Snow & Py – Wallow (Raffertie Remix)

The digital release is available since yesterday and to give it some promotion, the label gives away the remixes from Ninja Tune’s Raffertie and PhOtOmachine for free!

You can listen to further snippets on Super’s SoundCloud page or proceed to Bleep or iTunes to buy your copy.

Weekly Bits 28/2011

Whenever I hear one of the Detroit producers reminiscent about The Electrifying Mojo, I go an seek recordings of his shows. Which is how I stumbled across this interview with Prince (transcript) and this compilation which was incidentally released this month.

Resident Advisor has an interesting article on The rise of streaming club music, featuring Boiler Room, Dublab or Percussion Lab.

DFA’s Juan Maclean has released a 12-inch under the name of Peach Melba. The standout track the dub of dub version, which all Rhythm & Sound fans must download immediately.

If you’re into Sun Ra, check out Klimt’s new 3-LP boxset The Mystery of Being. Also looking tasty are those Radiohead remixes from Pearson Sound, Lone and Four Tet, as well as those from Mark Pritchard and Nathan Fake.

Will Saul’s Aus Music is preparing a Japan exclusive compilation of some of its back catalogue. It’s cover artwork well crafted and Save Vinyl shares some photos of its making. Selected Works will be out next week and if you must you can get it from HMV Japan.

Scratcha DVA has done a mixtape for Red Bull, Cardopusher for 1000Dragones, and Throwing Snow for Wholemeats.

Eglo’s first lady Fatima has performed at this years’ Montreux Jazz Festival, here is a video capturing some moments.

And lastly, grab Greg Wilson‘s edit of the 808 State classic Pacific State.

Weekend Mixtapes

Chances are you already heard the latest FACT Magazine podcast, a live recording of Jamie xx & Oneman. The two were playing back to back at what appears to be the hottest club in the UK right now: London’s Boiler Room. Expect a selection from disco and boogie to garage reworks of nineties pop-dancefloor tunes. A bit crazy, but really nice.

Next up we got last week’s Dummy Mix from Dutch producer 2562, in which he plays new music he’s “feeling from all over the place.” Also available from his SoundCloud page, just in case you feel you need to press the +fav button.

Our podcast contributor Kelpe did a guestmix for Tom Ravencroft’s show on 6 Music show last month. If you missed that one, you can grab the download off SoundCloud.

Paul Pre, another contributor to our podcast series, will be playing at this year’s Outlook Festival in Croatia. To promote himself and the event, he put a new mix on Mixcloud.

For oki-ni, dubstep producer Martyn did a mix “as if it were a spring afternoon radio show, with a few jingles and music from across the board”, including Carl Craig, Tom Tom Club, Austin Peralta and Caribou.

I got some more bass music for you released in the last couple of weeks: SBTRKT‘s recent show on Rinse FM (direct link), the Throwing Snow guestmix for Get Me, and Fantastic Mr Fox did one for The Guardian.

We’re gonna end this as we started, with another recording from the Boiler Room by Kutmah.

Throwing Snow – Un Vingt / Cronos

Throwing Snow - HOTEP001

Record Sleeve

From UK based producer Throwing Snow comes the first release on Alexander Nut’s new Ho_Tep label. That’s right, the founder of the insanely creative Eglo label has put on a second foot in the world of tasteful underground music.

So here comes this two-tracker with the beautiful garage/bruk hybrid Un Vingt (listen below!), filled with warm vibes from 70s synthesizers, pitched up vocalsand beats reminiscent of peak Dominic Stanton productions. For me that track is reason enough to buy the copy, but you might also like the flipside Cronos, a limping hip-hop beat thumping over an artillery fire of synthesizers.

A. Un Vingt
B. Cronos

You can already buy the 12-inch on Boomkat, Juno and all good record shops, a digital release is also available as MP3 and lossless quality.