Thundercat – MmmHmm (live)

Instead of making a sad face over not being able to see him (and Floating Points) play in London tonight, I searched for Thundercat videos on YouTube and came across this one.

This was recorded for the BBC sometime last year in Los Angeles. The track is, of course, taken from Flying Lotus’ 2010 album Cosmogramma. Not sure who’s playing with Thundercat there, but I take it the drummer is his brother Ron Bruner.

SBTRKT – Hold On (live at Maida Vale)

With SBTRKT‘s self-titled album being only a couple of days from entering record stores around the world, the masked producer has uploaded this live version of the album track “Hold On”.

Vocals are once again delivered by longtime collaborator Sampha, but the situation on the album is quite different. To get a better idea, why don’t you listen to the entire album on the stream?

James Blake – The Wilhelm Scream (live)

Listen to James Blake performing his new single “(The Wilhelm Scream” recorded live at the legendary Maida Vale Studios in London.

You all know by now the kid has an album coming on February 7th, 2011 and pre-orders are already open.

(via Lefto)

Flying Lotus Maida Vale Session

Los Angeles’ very own Flying Lotus is joined by his cousin Ravi Coltrane, singer Andreya Triana, Thundercat on bass, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson on violin andsome others for a recording session at the BBC’s Maida Vale Studios.

Three tracks from that session are also available on Gilles Peterson‘s latest radio-show, available for 7 more days on the BBC iPlayer.

Dimlite's Strikedelic Mix

It might not sound like what you’d expect to hear on Mary Anne Hobbs, but here is the mix Dimlite put together for her show. While there’s only one track from himself on the mix, you can relate every single track to his own productions and how it influenced him.01. Chicago — Fancy Colors
02. Ron Geesin — Electro Rhythm
03. Dimilite — Some loop
04. Imp Girl — Vandal C*ck
05. Charles Earland — Journey of the Soul
06. Frank Zappa & Captain Beefheart — Willie the Pimp
07. Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band — Peon
08. Todd Rundgren — There Are No Words

You can get this from Dimlite’s website, in case you missed it or want to listen again. Or you can listen to the entire show.

Dimlite just released a set of remixes and is about to drop an album on Now Again soon!

It's Domu in for Benji (again)

It’s that time of the year again, that Domu substitutes Benji B on BBC 1xtra’s Underground Soul. In the last two weeks new tracks from Kaidi Tatham, Zed Bias, Mark de Clive-Lowe, Blakai and Phlash & Friends have gotten airplay.

Oct 24, 2008 (stream | download)
01. Jazzanova – Look What You’re Doin To Me
02. Q-Tip – Move
03. Replife – Spirit Dilla
04. Stone Detectives – Audio Teleport
05. Lars Bartkuhn – Goodbye Dancing Hello God
06. 4Hero – Play With The Changes (feat. Talita Long & Larry Mizell)
07. Kaidi Tatham – Do What You Gotta Do
08. Floating Points – 2000Black (Tribute To)
09. Atjazz – Parallels (Jazzanova Remix)
10. Mario Basanov & Vidis – Test (Atjazz Afrotech Remix)
11. Phlash & Friends – Think About It
12. Flowriders – Russelology (Restless Soul Voodoo Vox)
13. Blakai – Simmer Down
14. Kaidi Tatham – He Laughs She Cries
15. Martyn – Vancouver (Flylo Remix)
16. Shut Up & Dance – Epileptic (Martyn Remix)
17. Eddy Meets Yannah – Bad Fairy (Zed Bias Remix)
18. Zed Bias & Joshua Black – Hotter
19. Kindred Spirits Ensemble – Shining Liberation (feat. Pete Philly)
20. Jose James – Desire (KDJ Mix)
21. Tettory Bad – Its Ur Time (feat. Shea Soul)
22. Shirley Bassey – You Only Live Twice (Mark De Clive Lowe Instrumental)
23. Data-Bwoy – It’s A Bwoy
24. Marco Polo & J. Davey – Relax
25. Kissey Asplund – Silverlake

This week’s show can be streamed on BBC’s iPlayer for the next 7 days, additionally you can download the last two shows via Creaminal’s blog.