Om Unit – The Silence

Jim Cole’s debut album as Om Unit will be out at the end of the month and snippets from the record have been circulating. However, the first proper preview comes in form of this new video for the track “The Silence”, backed by the vocals of Simon Jinadu. (Despite a second Beauty Room LP, I don’t think that I have heard any new Jinadu material since his collaborations with Domu back in the day!)

If you like this, you can pre-order Threads from Civil Music, where it will drop on October 28, 2013!

(via Hyponik)

dÉbruit – Cuivrée

While dÉbruit‘s latest video shares some attributes with his last one, like the tones and that hue cycling effect, it’s not clear whether it’s once again the work of German artist Rainbowmonkey, there’s no credit to be found. The track Cuivrée is taken from the Parisian’s current album From The Horizon, which was released on Civil Music in early summer. Since then, a set of remixes came out on vinyl and digital, featuring treatments from LV, Kelpe, Fulgeance and Mwëslee.

Weekly Bits 42/2012

Here are some things from earlier in the week worth noting, all of them previously mentioned on our Twitter feed.

There will be a documentary on Los Angeles’ Stones Throw label titled Our Vinyl Weighs A Ton and you can support it through their Kickstarter campaign.

Dummy Magazine asked Kuedo to pick the 10 best The Future Is Yet To Come tracks, “10 most forward-thinking, out-there tracks that he takes inspiration from.”

You probably streamed the new Lukid album while it was up on the Resident Advisor homepage earlier this week.If you missed it, Lonely At The Top will be out tomorrow on vinyl and CD. Also read this interview with the man over on Sonic Router.

Following the recent drum & bass revival, check out LV’s remix from the new Débruit EP on Civil Music. Also comes with remixes from Kelpe, Mwëslee and Fulgeance.

New York’s Visualized did a nice video on the story behind the iconic Joy Division cover artwork for Unknown Pleasures.

Here’s a mixtape we wanted to include in the last Weekend Mixtapes selection, it’s West Norwood Cassette Library‘s contribution to the Fill Yer Boots podcast.

And lastly an oldie by Dorian Concept he forgot about himself, available for free download on the Dublab website!

Om Unit – Ulysses VIP

Here comes the second Tempo Clash treat of the day, the first being their new podcast mixed by Danny Breaks and Kahn. The original of Ulysses appeared on the Aeolian EP, the VIP version is a free download for all his fans.

Om Unit – Ulysses

Following Dark Sunrise, this is already the second video off Om Unit‘s recently released Aeolian EP. It was directed by the duo of Bison, who you might know from their work for Jon Hopkins.

As for the EP, Aeolian is available now through Civil Music on vinyl and several digital format.

Om Unit – Dark Sunrise

As you might know now, London’s Om Unit is about to release his third EP on Civil Music, following The Timps and Transport. The new one is called Aeolian and comes with four tracks (plus two remixes on the digital release.)

Above you can watch the video for the track Dark Sunrise featuring Tamara Blessa. Red Bull UK also did a short interview with both artists.

You can pre-order Aeolian today, the current release date is August 6th, 2012!

dÉbruit – Mega Wagna

Parisian dÉbruit has a new album out and here’s a video by Rainbowmonkey, who is also responsible for the album’s surreal artwork (inspired by Magritte.)

The album is called From The Horizon and is available on golden vinyl and several digital formats.

XLR8R Podcast by Om Unit

The week is still young and there’s no shortage of quality mixtapes and London’s Om Unit is one of the most consistent producers right now when it comes to quality. So I’m very excited about the last XLR8R podcast of the year, I’m sure it won’t disappoint.

XLR8R Podcast by Om Unit

XLR8R Podcast by Om Unit (download)
01. Moresounds – Weeda
02. Salva – Komodo
03. Krampfhaft – I Need You
04. Om Unit – Vibrations (Machinedrum Remix)
05. Adam F – Circles (Phillip D Kick Footwork Jungle Edit)
06. Danny Breaks – Droppin’ Science Vol.1 (Phillip D Kick Footwork Jungle Edit)
07. Chesslo Junior – Alpine Riddim
08. DJ Rashad – Welcome to the Chi
09. Ital Tek – Pixel Haze
10. EAN – AulderKincher
11. Om Unit – Swimming Dragon
12. Kuedo – Scissors
13. Delilah – Go
14. Raadsel & Luisterwaar – Tissue Box
15. Onra – Fight or Die
16. Silent Dust – The Giant (Om Unit Remix)
17. Kromestar – Don’t Make Sense VIP
18. Kinzy – Tree Tops
19. Om Unit – An Eternal Way
20. Calibre – No More
21. Joe Syntax – Signal Drop
22. IIX – Eclipse
23. Jay 5ive and Kromestar – Wishful Thinking
24. Daedelus – Vous Ites Stereo (Om Unit Remix)

Two flavours as usual, make your choice on the download page.

Om Unit – The Timps

We first mentioned the new EP from Om Unit a couple of weeks ago. It’s called The Timps, it’s finally out and it got this awesome looking video teaser (yes, triangles are still hot in 2011!)

Like this, then grab yourself a copy from your favourite record store. Or buy it from Juno, Rush Hour, Boomkat or wherever you usually order online.

March 19, 2011 Forgot to mention the video was made by Cultlovesyou

Om Unit – The Timps

Coming out in March on Civil Music, London’s Om Unit has completed his yet most electro-infused EP to date. We already know about his passion for legendary Detroit outfit Drexciya and on “The Timps” Om Unit salutes his idols all the way through.

1. The Timps
2. Prawn Cocktail
3. The Timps (alternative version)
4. Prawn Cocktail (Salva remix)
5. The Timps (Hrdivision remix)*

* digital only

I hope you like the snippets as much as I do, but it’s still a long time until you will find this in stores. The current release-date for The Timps is March 12, 2011.

The cover was designed by Mike Lythgoe, who you might know from his work for dEbruit.