Cid Rim – Charge

Earlier this year, Vienna’s Affine Records released a new record by Cid Rim, his first on the label since 2005’s Full Nelson EP. The label has now revealed a video for its title track, directed by long-time collaborator Gregor Lehrl.

If you haven’t heard any of the music on Charge/Kano before, make sure to check out Jameszoo‘s remix as well.

You can grab the full release from Bandcamp, Bleep or iTunes.

Cid Rim – Mute City (live)

If you’re following Cid Rim on Twitter, you were probably anticipating the radio session he’s been teasing us with for days. Apparently, the thing is hitting the airwaves today on Austrian radio (Dorian Concept did that, remember?) and for the rest of us, here is a track to get a glimpse of what that mind sound like. Also, with the end of the year approaching, I think this is a good reminder of the Mute City EP, which the Austrian drummer and producer released this autumn on Glasgow’s LuckyMe label.

December 21, 2013 You can now download all tracks from the session or watch a video recording.

Cid Rim – Red Ocean (At Home Session)

Austrian website They Shoot Music visits musicians at their home or other spots in the city of Vienna. New on the list of visited producers is LuckyMe-affiliated Cid Rim, who plays a cut from his Mute City EP released a couple of months ago. Take notice, that you’ll have to enable the subtitles, as they’re not hardcoded into the video. And if you like that video, also check out an older one with Dorian Concept!

Cid Rim – Fade (Live Edit)

I have a soft spot for good music videos, no doubt about it. But when you look at the last couple of posts on this website, it might the impression that I’m posting nothing but videos. Don’t worry too much about that, it’s only caused by a lack-of-time period that should be over soon.

Anyway, when Fulgeance tweeted about a rhythmical beauty, I came across the latest Cid Rim video. Well, we had quite a bit of him lately, but this makes up for the unmentioned video for Red Ocean. LuckyMe affiliated director Peter Marsden is responsible for the live edit of “Fade”, one of the tracks taken from new Mute City EP. He did a magnificent job if you ask me!

Cid Rim – Mute City

While we’re still waiting to hear new music from Dorian Concept, his friend and Affine label-mate Cid Rim readies his second release on Glasgow’s LuckyMe imprint. Titled “Mute City”, the five track EP is his first release since last year’s mini-album and his first physical output on the label. Pitchfork premiered the full version of Extend Ranges the other day, now it’s ten days of patience until we can pick it up in record stores around the world.

Solid Steel Radio Show with Cid Rim

It looks like Vienna’s Cid Rim is about to rise into similar heights has his friend and bandmate Dorian Concept. His debut album was well-received and being on a respected label like LuckyMe certainly helped building up a reputation.

This week, he did a guestmix for Solid Steel, playing music that influenced him, such as Boards of Canada, Forss or Cinematic Orchestra, as well as unreleased music from his Affine label mates.

01. Sixtus Preiss – Kation
02. Donnis – Hello Kitty (Cid Rim Remix)
03. Forss – Funk For Nerds
04. Yellow Tangerine – One For The Clouds
05. Cinematic Orchestra – Durian
06. Medeski, Martin & Wood – Chinoiserie
07. Cactus – One Way Or Another
08. Sixtus Preiss – Samba Feelin Beein This (Cid Rim Remix)
09. Boards Of Canada – Gyroscope
10. Prefuse 73 – Uprock And Invigorate
11. Alacrair Ensemble – Fussy Fuss
12. Dorian Concept – Hold Your Hand By Command
13. Kendrick Lamar – Swimming Pools
14. Boards Of Canada – Live At ATP #1

The second half of the show has a mix from DK, grab the download and leave a comment if you enjoy the music!

Cid Rim – Poellau

In the style of those video-teasers, Glasgow’s LuckyMe put out another video for the previously unreleased Cid Rim track Poellau. The track is an out-take from his self-titled debut album on the label and available for free download thanks to the folks at Dummy Mag.

For those that haven’t given the album a try yet, you can listen to (and buy) it at Bleep or iTunes.

Cid Rim – Draw (Dorian Concept Remix)

While we’re eagerly awaiting news about a forthcoming Dorian Concept album on Ninja Tune, the Viennese producer lent his talents to his friend, the drummer and producer Cid Rim. After a couple of delays, Cid Rim has finally landed his debut album on Glasgow’s LuckyMe label, home to many success stories of recent years. And it’s a great album I’d like to recommend to our readers, it brings up memories of 2009’s When Planets Explode while remaining a strong record of its own.

As for the remix above, it’s part of the 10 track debut album. Unfortunately, it’s a digital only release, but why am I always expecting to speak to a vinyl-only audience? Get you copy from Bleep, iTunes or wherever you buy digital music.

Cid Rim – A Fall For Two

After a couple of delays, Glasgow’s LuckyMe label is finally about to release the debut by Cid Rim. Who’s Cid Rim you might ask. We featured his last single on Affine Records in late 2010 and like his label mates Dorian Concept and The Clonious, the trained drummer hails from the beautiful city of Vienna.

Titled “Log Out Of Bounds”, we picked up the rumor the album might be a digital-only release. But let’s stick to the facts: it will be available on August 7, 2012 through LuckyMe and you should check their Vimeo page for some more snippets.

Cid Rim vs The Clonious – Full Nelson EP

Cid Rim vs The Clonious - Full Nelson EP

Cover Artwork

Today is the day, that the latest release from fine Viennese label Affine hits the stores. It is a split single by The Clonious and newly signed Cid Rim, both members of JSBL – alongside Dorian Concept.

While fans of Between the Dots will not be disappointed by Clonious’ new material, to me it’s Cid Rim’s fresh approach that makes Full Nelson a must-have record. I’m just making sure this doesn’t stay this year’s best kept secret.A1. Cid Rim – Jerome
A2. Cid Rim – Chop Suey Cide Step
A3. Cid Rim – Bear Hug Love
B1. The Clonious – Truth (feat. Paul Randolph)
B2. The Clonious – Earringer
B3. The Clonious – Paul´s Suite

Below you can listen to snippets of the tracks on the release:

Like the previous Affine release, Ogris Debris’ Aery, the cover artwork is done by Viennese designer and illustrator Leonhard Lass. If you like him, you should also check out fellow Brazilian Rubens, we had an article on him before.

If the music got your mouth watery for more already, watch out for Cid Rim’s forthcoming 7-inch On! on The Loud Minority. Though it’s still four months away, you better put it on your list as 300 copies sell quickly.