dÉbruit – Cuivrée

While dÉbruit‘s latest video shares some attributes with his last one, like the tones and that hue cycling effect, it’s not clear whether it’s once again the work of German artist Rainbowmonkey, there’s no credit to be found. The track Cuivrée is taken from the Parisian’s current album From The Horizon, which was released on Civil Music in early summer. Since then, a set of remixes came out on vinyl and digital, featuring treatments from LV, Kelpe, Fulgeance and Mwëslee.

Weekly Bits 42/2012

Here are some things from earlier in the week worth noting, all of them previously mentioned on our Twitter feed.

There will be a documentary on Los Angeles’ Stones Throw label titled Our Vinyl Weighs A Ton and you can support it through their Kickstarter campaign.

Dummy Magazine asked Kuedo to pick the 10 best The Future Is Yet To Come tracks, “10 most forward-thinking, out-there tracks that he takes inspiration from.”

You probably streamed the new Lukid album while it was up on the Resident Advisor homepage earlier this week.If you missed it, Lonely At The Top will be out tomorrow on vinyl and CD. Also read this interview with the man over on Sonic Router.

Following the recent drum & bass revival, check out LV’s remix from the new Débruit EP on Civil Music. Also comes with remixes from Kelpe, Mwëslee and Fulgeance.

New York’s Visualized did a nice video on the story behind the iconic Joy Division cover artwork for Unknown Pleasures.

Here’s a mixtape we wanted to include in the last Weekend Mixtapes selection, it’s West Norwood Cassette Library‘s contribution to the Fill Yer Boots podcast.

And lastly an oldie by Dorian Concept he forgot about himself, available for free download on the Dublab website!

dÉbruit – Mega Wagna

Parisian dÉbruit has a new album out and here’s a video by Rainbowmonkey, who is also responsible for the album’s surreal artwork (inspired by Magritte.)

The album is called From The Horizon and is available on golden vinyl and several digital formats.

Musique Large 2007-2010

It’s the first compilation by Musique Large, it’s full of good music and to make it extra large it comes for free. Featuring music from the last three years, including artists such as dÉbruit, Fulgeance, Ghislain Poirier, Charles Trees, Dorian Concept and Huess.

01. Charles Trees – The Dream (Baron Retif & Concepcion Perez Remix)
02. Débruit – Gros
03. Fulgeance – I Luv U
04. Ghislain Poirier – Slow Fat
05. Charles Trees – Majhongg
06. Fulgeance – Chopped & Screwed
07. Fulgeance – Chico (Dorian Concept Remix)
08. Débruit – Roi TV
09. Fulgeance – I Luv U (Huess Remix)

Download this brilliant compilation over at Bandcamp and subscribe to the La Mixette podcast series if you haven’t already!

(via YSK)

Pollyn – Still Love

Cover Artwork

Cover Artwork

Pollyn is the Los Angeles based trio of Genevieve Artadi, Anthony Cava and beatmaker Adam Jay Weissman. Their debut album This Little Night is hard to find outside the United States, though their mixture of hip-hop and indie styles (somewhere between Goldfrapp and Nite Jewel) should easily attract a wider audience.

Still Love is the second single off the album, sounding like a modern Kate Bush wrapped in atmospheric soundscapes and a hip-hop beat. Besides the original version and an instrumental, it comes with three remixes with two of them blowing my mind.01. Still Love (Original Version)
02. Still Love (Sid Roams Remix)
03. Still Love (Débruit Remix)
04. Still Love (Blue Daisy Remix)
05. Still Love (Instrumental)
First up is Paris beatmaker Débruit, who tears up the track to fill it with his monster synth-lines and straight forward beats. The remix from London’s Blue Daisy maintains the atmosphere of the original, but adds much more depth to it. You could easily mistake this for a creation of the Flying Lotus.

I found it very difficult to pick a favourite out of these. In the end I chose the Débruit remix, hoping this would give Pollyn the most attention. Here’s the video for the original version of the song:

Unfortunately, it doesn’t say when and where this is gonna drop. Have them in mind the next time you visit a record-shop, I will add the date as soon as I know!

Dec 7, 2009 In the meantime, I got a response regarding the release-date. The single is supposed to be available as free download as of now. So why not grab my two favourite mixes from above?

Mixtape Monday #5

The Brainfeeder label always guarantees a great selection of music, their latest mixtape is called Brain Food and was put together by Alex B. If you like that I can already tell you want the FACT Podcast by Débruit as well.

Joscha Creutzfeld of UpMyAlley posted a mixtape made for RBMA Radio in 2007 on SoundCloud titled Lost and Found. This should make the waiting for the follow-up to his more recent Brrappness Mix a bit easier.

A very cool mix comes from Computer Jay, that is if you grew up in the eighties and you miss the sounds of your Atari 2600.

Citinite and LuckyMe are joining forces for a very special event in November, featuring Dâm-Funk, Rustie and Jimmy Edgar. To get you in the mood for that, check the mixtape they put together for The Fader.

House producer Mark E not only has a very beautiful looking website, you might also want to check out the mixes he has posted there, including the all new Merc Mix #1.

Lastly, here’s an older mix from Detroit legend Juan Atkins, which was recorded at the 12th anniversary party of Berlin’s equally legendary Tresor.

Débruit German Tour 2009

Just a video announcing Débruit‘s tour through Germany this October. If you’re around make sure to check one of his live-shows, otherwise just enjoy the video.

Oh, the tour stops in Jena on 14th, Dresden on 15th, then Berlin on the 16th and finally Tübingen on October 17th. Check the Débruit MySpace for more touring dates!

Débruit at Sónar 2009

Following Dorian Concept’s live-set at Sonar, I now have another one for you coming from Parisian beatmaker Débruit. Can’t say much more about it, except that it’s the same recording you might have heard on RBMA Radio, minus the bonus tracks.

Not even a proper video? So what are you waiting for, download and listen already!