XLR8R Podcast by Alex B

Another XLR8R Podcast we’d like to recommend, this time coming from Denver based producer and Elm & Oaks founder Alex B.

XLR8R Podcast by Alex B01. MNDSGN – ***reversefootsteps
02. Toro Y Moi – Fax Shadow
03. Robot Koch – Devil Drums (Alex B Remix)
04. Adam Deitch – Fat Boyyy
05. Leonard Dstroy – Hypnotized feat. Brother of Moses and Reggie B.
06. Alex B – At Channel One/Mr. Me Too Remix
07. Alex B – Chip Chop
08. Leonard Dstroy – Sunbeams
09. Alex B – Getting to Know You
10. Alex B feat. Quiz – Fuss
11. Alex B feat. Quiz – Yea Girl
12. Alex B – Dehydration
13. Jonwayne – Pondwater
14. Devonwho – untitled

You can choose between two formats, just head over to the XLR8R website for the download link.

Alpha Pup Spring 2010

Los Angeles based label Alpha Pup has sent me some amazing new albums over the last couple of weeks, both their own output and from other labels they distribute, like Brainfeeder or Elm&Oak. I previously reviewed the latest (and greatest) from Daedelus, but I didn’t have time for more. So here is some catching up.

Alpha Pup Records

Let’s start with the debut from Free the Robots titled Ctrl Alt Delete, which is available since last week.

Ctrl Alt Delete is a staggering work of mind-warping electronics, fuzzed-out psych and devastating hip-hop beats. Combining dusty swap-meet samples, futuristic synthesizers and live instrumentation.

You can get the digital-only release from a wide range of retailers, including Bleep, iTunes, Boomkat or Turntable Lab.

As reported, Alex B‘s debut Moments will be out tomorrow. You have heard some of his beats on the Brain Food mix before.While mostly instrumental, the album also has vocals from Count Bass D, Lilla D’mone and Sunk1.

The tracks on Moments are intricately crafted with painstaking care and attention to detail — a careful mix of analog and digital sounds elevated by imaginative samples and the insight of a classically trained musician. The result is a blend of timeless warmth and future beats.

You might also want to check out the official teaser video for the album.

New music from Jneiro Jarel will surface next week. His new EP “Android Love Mayhem” is probably the most promising of all mentioned releases.

The track above is a first teaser, you can download it from the XLR8R website.

Another week later and you get a new one from Take, his latest album called Only Mountain.

A dense and groundbreaking work, Take’s Only Mountain stands as a staggering collection of gorgeously brilliant melodies and deep subharmonic bass. Truly future music towards a brighter end.

“Only Mountain” will be out on April 20, 2010.

As you can see, there’s quite some new music for beat enthusiasts and fans of anything coming out of (or through) Los Angeles. Looking into the future, Alpha Pup has even more to come. Watch out for new music from Lorn (Brainfeeder, May 25), the Precious Cargo EP from FLYamSam (Brainfeeder, TBA) and a remix album of Nosaj Thing‘s debut Drift.

In the meantime, have a look at the free music from Alpha Pup. I will keep you posted on some of the mentioned releases once there’s more to say.

Alex B – You and I Both Know

The debut album from Elm&Oak head Alex B is almost here. Just enough time for another teaser.

Titled “Moments”, the album will be in stores on April 6, 2010. The track above is available for download on the XLR8R website.

More music from the album can be heard on Alex B’s Brain Food mixtape for Brainfeeder.