Digital Mystikz on Experimental

This week’s Mary Anne Hobbs show featured a guestmix by legedary dubstep pioneers Digital Mystikz. I’m quite amazed the tracklists includes only one track from the Return II Space LP, this is supposedly unreleased music.01. Martyn vs. Mike Castle – All Night

Digital Mystikz Mix
02. Grace Jones – Love You This Life (Digital Mystikz Remix)
03. Digital Mystikz – Education
04. Digital Mystikz – Marduk
05. Digital Mystikz – Eyez
06. Digital Mystikz – Emergency
07. Digital Mystikz – 2 Much Chat
08. Digital Mystikz – Runway
09. Andreya Triana – Town Called Ob (Digital Mystikz Remix)
10. Digital Mystikz – Enter
11. Digital Mystikz – Animal
12. Digital Mystikz – Enter Dimensions
13. Digital Mystikz – Horrid Henry

14. False – Disease/George Washington
15. Ben Frost – Theory Of Machines
16. Vaccine feat. Riya – Like A Dream

As you might know, Mary Anne has retired from her Radio 1 activities, the last show will be aired next week on September 9th, 2010. In the meantime, the BBC has announced that Benji B‘s will be leveled up from Radio 1xtra to a Radio 1 slot.

Here’s the download for the Digital Mystikz guest part only.

(via Tranquera)

Mixtape Monday #4

I already mentioned the Embers Mix from Floating Points in the weekly bits, but just in case you missed it..

Out of the Los Angeles based Brainfeeder collective, comes TOKiMONSTA with a very nice mixtape she recorded for my man Lefto. Make sure not to sleep on her tracks, she’s among the most talented uprising producers in the world right now!

From earlier this year is a mixtape by Innervision‘s Dixon. The mix was a giveaway for Berlin’s montly Innercity club. 70 minutes of good new house music.

More musical hotness from Berlin comes from Modeselektor. For Resident Advisor’s podcast series, the DJs and producers have put together a sweet dubstep set, proving once more the boys open mindedness towards anything out there. I might add, that I prefer the podcast much over their new Body Language mix CD.

Mary Anne Hobbs had Joy Orbison among her guests in her latest radioshow. That’s something for your iPod I believe.

I have posted this last one on Twitter some weeks back, one of my favourite podcast JJ Smoking Sessions has put together another great episode that’s all about Prince. No excuses.

Sbtrkt – Mary Anne Hobbs Mix

Cover Artwork

Cover Artwork

A couple of weeks ago, masked producer Sbtrkt got me stunned with his recent mixtape for FACT Magazine (you need to hear the Nepa Allstar track!). This week he did a guest mix for Mary Anne Hobbs.

Sbtrkt – Mary Anne Hobbs Mix (download)
01. Sbtrkt – 2020
02. Sbtrkt – Summers Gone
03. Sbtrkt – The Fog
04. Sbtrkt – Jamlock
05. Sbtrkt – Fade Out
06. Sbtrkt – Pause For Thought
07. Martyn – Right? Star!
08. Sbtrkt – Rundown
09. Moderat – Nasty Silence
10. Sbtrkt – Memory Game
11. Sampha – Subconscious
12. Sbtrkt – Atomic Peace

And while doing some research, I have discovered a third mixtape by the man for No Pain in Pop. Don’t sleep on this!

August 13, 2009 The mix is now officially available from Sbtrkt’s SoundCloud page

Weekly Bits 19/2009

Not long ago, I have written about Paul White’s 12-inch One Eye Open. Now you can download his previous releases for a price of your choosing, including the option to download it for free.

Some new material from Dorian Concept has been played on the latest edition of Radio 1’s Experimental show. The mix is running for about 15 minutes only, but it’s worth every second!

Following Fluid Ounce‘s massive DVD Collection, founder Chris Vogado (one half of ZerodB) features both old and new music from the label’s catalogue on this exclusive mix for Tru Thoughts.

Another great mixtape comes once again from Future Vintage, put together by Dutch producer I.N.T. A lot of spaced out beats, including music featured on this blog!

If you’re a producer and don’t mind the tight deadline, you should give this remix contest from Brownswood a try. To be remixed are tracks from Dobie‘s recent 12-inch The New Madness.

Nosaj Thing on Experimental

Last week, Mary Anne Hobbs had a guestmix from Nosaj Thing on her Experimental show. The mix contains many exclusive tracks from Nosaj Thing‘s upcoming debut album Drift and is now available for download from his blog.

Nosaj Thing in the Mix (download)
01. Chopin – Prelude in E Minor
02. Nosaj Thing – Untitled
03. Nosaj Thing – Nightcrawler
04. Nosaj Thing – Wandering Star (Nosaj Thing Remix)
05. Nosaj Thing – Coat of Arms
06. Nosaj Thing – 1685/Bach
07. Nosaj Thing – Intro/Camel (Nosaj Thing Remix)
08. Nosaj Thing – Aquarium
09. Nosaj Thing – Caves
10. Nosaj Thing – Harrison Ford

On the same show, Mary Anne played guestmixes from Ras G and Mono/Poly. You can download them here.