The Orb – Moonbuilding 2703 AD (Teebs Moon Grotto Remix)

With “Moonbuilding 2073 AD”, legendary The Orb released one of the biggest surprises of the year (as in surprisingly good) on Cologne’s Kompakt label. If you haven’t given it a try before, please do so, it’s among my favourites for the year. There will be more surprises. The smaller one the mere fact that there will be a remix EP, the bigger one that one the remixes is coming out of sunny Los Angeles, courtesy of Brainfeeder-signed and long-time favourite Teebs.

No other remixers have been revealed as of now, neither the name of the remix EP. What we do know though is the release date and that’s on October 2nd, 2015. Keep your eyes peeled!

Weekly Bits 26/2012

In the coming week, 2012’s Bloc is taking off in London. Over the past weeks, the makers of the festival did a series of interviews with some of the artists performing. Check out the videos with Steve Reich, Apparat and Nicolas Jaar.

As you should know by now, Rob Booth has just released the first Electronic Explorations compilation. That’s 60 tracks for only ₤5! If you’re not convinced yet, here’s a mixtape with all the tracks.

Another big mix I wanted to post earlier this week is the latest in One-Handed‘s Dedication series. It comes from Turkish singer Ahu and she introduces the listener to one of her favourite jazz singers: Blossom Dearie.

Pitchfork gave away a remix by Illum Sphere for a track off Lorn‘s new album on Ninja Tune – grab it while you can!

Following John Tejada‘s excellent Parabolas, the renowned techno producer teams up once more with Kompakt for a new album. XLR8R has more details on that.

Once a film student, Flying Lotus made some attempts at directing music videos before. His latest was done for Jeremiah Jae‘s new single on Brainfeeder: Money.

And lastly, here’s one more mixtape courtesy of Addison Groove, also available for free download.

John Tejada – Parabolas

I used to call myself a huge fan of John Tejada‘s music, but then I kinda lost track of his music since 2004’s Sweat (On the Walls). So much on fandom. Anyhow, he is back with a new longplayer on Germany’s Kompakt Records and it’s good to have him… back?

As you can hear it’s all a bit calmer now, but the signature Tejada sounds are all still there. You can listen to more of the album on Kompakt’s (much cooler) player or buy your copy from stores such as Boomkat, Rush Hour or Bleep.

I’m not sure if it’s a typo, but the Kompakt store lists the 2xLP plus CD for only €13.70 – the CD alone costs €12.80.

Kompakt Benefit Compilation for Japan

From German label Kompakt comes another benefit compilation that is meant to help the victims of the recent Tsunami in Japan. It is filled with music from 30 labels, including prestigious names such as Raster-Noton, Dial Records, Bpitch Control, Ostgut Ton and -of course- Kompakt.

To get you convinced, a mere look at the tracklist might be enough. Otherwise you can stream the entire compilation below.

01. Marsen Jules Trio – OEillet Parfait
02. Ezekiel Honig – Past Tense Kitchen Movement
03. Jahcoozi – Lost In The Bass
04. Space System – Petik
05. Greie Gut Fraktion – Wir Bauen Eine Neue Stadt (Wolfgang Voigt Remix)
06. Manaboo – Unhuh
07. Efdemin – Time
08. Antonelli – Waiting For You
09. André Lodemann Feat. Nathalie Claude – Searchin’
10. Lawrence – Dwelling On The Drums
11. Michael Mayer – Picanha Frenesi
12. Nhar – Megumi
13. Xaver von Treyer – Lunar Rover (The Wolf Song)
14. Cosmic Kids – Reginald’s Groove
15. My Favorite Robot – The Future Will Judge Us
16. Kaito – Open My Window
17. Audision – Red Sky
18. Monkey Maffia – Yo Baby Yo
19. Nick Höppner – Makeover
20. Gowentgone – Love & Respect
21. Glitterbug – Parted
22. SCSI-9 – Electric Flowers
23. Dusty Kid – America
24. Tassilo – Petite Patate
25. Davenport & Deutschmann – Trump
26. Mr. Statik – Smoothest Cat On The Block!
27. Someone Else – Funny Day Elsewhere
28. Ana Helder – El Groove De Tu Corazón
29. Anne – James Chaton – Vendredi 26 Juin 2009 – Événement N°23
30. Borngräber & Strüver – People Crying
31. Metaboman – Stony
32. Maya Jane Coles – You
33. Dj Olive – Kokanee’s Drop
34. Out Of Plato’s Cave – Rainbow For Dawn Shane Berry’s Rainbow for Japan Mix

You can get yourself the download for only €7.99 over at Bandcamp or Other Music. And take a look at those two Nihon Kizuna compilations, Find Magazine’s The Sun Still Rises In The East and the forthcoming L.A. Loves Japan on Alpha Pup.