Hotflush: It’s Not A Sound

Very short, but nicely shot documentary on the Hotflush label. Among the interviewees are Sigha, George Fitzgerald, Machinedrum/Sepalcure, and Scuba himself.

The video was made by ISYS, who you might remember from the Boiler Room football tournament.

RBMA Lecture: Scuba

Finally, the Red Bull Music Academy unlocked the lecture I wanted to post the other day: it’s Gerd Janson in conversation with Hotflush founder Scuba.

As usual, you can expect a talk about Scuba‘s influences, his early attempts at making music, setting up the label and so forth.

Scuba – Adrenalin

As mentioned the other day, the new DJ-Kicks will be put together by Hotflush founder Scuba. As a first taster, !K7 has posted this track off the mix CD.

Sounds a bit like a house rework of Before (After), but how’s that a bad thing? The Adrenalin EP will be out on Hotflush at an undisclosed date on September 26, 2011. The DJ-Kicks CD will be available starting October 25, 2011.

Scuba – DJ-Kicks

Scuba - DJ-Kicks

Cover Artwork

They say the age of the mixed CD has come to an end, and in the new age of the internet it’s easy to believe. There’s hardly a music publication without its own podcast and live-recordings from clubs around the world are only a click away. But I believe in the rule of exception and !K7’s DJ-KiCKS series is not only one of the first mix CD series, for me anyway, but also an exceptional one (again exceptions apply everywhere!)

Today, they’ve announced their latest addition from no other but Hotflush founder Paul Rose, better known for his music output under the names of Scuba and SCB. From his reputation as a DJ and his taste in selecting artists for his label, I have reason to believe he will continue the recent winning streak (I’m thinking of Apparat and MCDE) in the series. At least that’s what the tracklist suggests.01. Sigha – HF029B2
02. Surgeon – The Power of Doubt
03. DBridge – For Tonight
04. Badawi – Lost Highway (Incyde remix)
05. Peverelist – Sun Dance
06. Until Silence – The Affair
07. Addison Groove – An We Drop
08. Roska – Leapfrog
09. Trevino – Shorty
10. Beaumont – CPX11
11. Function – Two Ninety One
12. Braille – Breakup
13. Quest – Everybody in the Place
14. Sigha – Let Me In
15. George FitzGerald – Shackled
16. Jon Convex – Streetwalk
17. Mr Beatnick – Don’t Walk Away From My Love
18. Boddika – Acid Battery
19. Marcel Dettmann – Captivate
20. Arkist – Rendez-Vous (SCB edit)
21. Locked Groove – Drowning
22. Recloose – Tecumseh
23. Sigha – Where I Come To Forget
24. Sex Worker – Rhythm of the Night
25. Scuba – M.A.R.S.
26. Jichael Mackson – Gedons
27. Rivet – Running S
28. Recondite – Backbone
29. Ludovic Vendi – Mental Bright
30. Rivet – Slant
31. Scuba – Adrenalin
32. Sepalcure – Inside

Scuba’s DJ-KiCKS will be in stores on October 25, 2011. While this hasn’t been confirmed, we expect it to drop in the usual trilogy of CD, LP and a 12-inch with exclusive music.

Scuba – Essential Mix

I probably mentioned Scuba‘s Essential Mix before, but now it’s available as an official download (and no Pete Tong to be heard, hooray!) Time to revisit this set, which was recorded at this year’s Sónar festival.

01. Boddika – Rubba
02. Brawther – Spaceman Funk (George FitzGerald Remix)
03. Boddika – Windy
04. Jon Convex – Pop That P
05. Deadboy – Wish U Were Here
06. SCB – Mace
07. Jichael Mackson – Gti
08. Paul Woolford & Psychotron – Stolen
09. Joy O – Ellipsis
10. Maurice Donovan – Babeh
11. Rod – Malmok One
12. Scuba – Adrenalin
13. Beaumont – Lucky
14. Marcel Dettmann – Lattice
15. SCB – Loss
16. Boddika – Acid Battery
17. Tommy Four Seven – Surma
18. Scuba – Feel It

Grab the download, leave a comment.

XLR8R Podcast by SCB

Best known as the founder of the Hotflush label and for his releases under the name of Scuba, Paul Rose also maintains the SCB moniker for his more house-oriented output. Only recently he has put out a record on Will Saul’s Aus Music and some more can be heard in his new mix for XLR8R.

XLR8R Podcast by SCB (download)
01. Recondite – Yield
02. Sven Wiesemann – Emphasized
03. Terence Fixmer – Comedy of Menace
04. Braille – Leavin Without You
05. Obsolete Music Technology – Relapse
06. Unknown – Untitled
07. John Spring – Drummachines
08. Shifted – Untitled
09. Sigha – HF029B1
10. Deadbeat – Vampire
11. SCB – Down Moment
12. SCB – Loss
13. Instra:mental – Pyramid
14. 2 AM FM – Desolate Cities
15. Ness – Ancient Crackle
16. Patrice Scott – 2000 Black
17. Mike Denhert – Unknown
18. Jon Convex – Order into Chaos
19. Rod – Malmok One
20. Sigha – Politics of Dying
21. SCB – Overlay
22. Portable – Inside Your Mind

As usual, the podcast is also available in other formats, head over to the XLR8R website for alternate download links. Let us also remind you of the previous Scuba podcast from some years back.

Scuba – Triangulation (Interpretations)

Following the groundbreaking Triangulation album on his own Hotflush label, Scuba is about to release new interpretations by himself and like-minded musicians like FaltyDL (big tune!), Will Saul or Joe.

Below you can listen to a 10-minutes mix with all of the album’s tracks:

01. Before (After)
02. Latch (Will Saul & Mike Monday Remix)
03. On Deck (FaltyDL Remix)
04. You Got Me (I Got You)
05. Tracers (Deadbeat Remix)
06. So You Think You’re Special (Joe Remix)
07. Before (Deadboy Remix)

It seems like Triangulation (Interpretations) is a CD-only release, though that might leave the option for several EPs the future. On November 15, you can find it in all good stores.

November 15, 2010 As mentioned before, the record is out now. Get your’s from Bleep or Boomkat. There is also a new 12-inch featuring the remixes by Deadbeat and FaltyDL.