Seymour Liberty in “Between”

Yesterday night, FRSH SLCTS founder Knny Frsh unveiled the blog’s first video short, a beautiful black & white piece telling the story of Coultrain’s Seymour Liberty character. The images are as poetic as the words spoken, so please take the time and watch the whole thing. The new Coultrain album Jungle Mumbo Jumbo will be out on April 23 via Plug Research.

Sonnymoon – Wild Rumpus (Tensei Remix)

Hot on the heels of the brilliant Think Twice, Chicago’s Tensei came up with a remix for their Plug Research label mates Sonnymoon. If you’re looking for a soundtrack for a hot summer day, this is for you.

And if that hasn’t been enough of a treat, you can download the track for repeated listening. Hope you enjoy!

Tensei – Think Twice (Version)

I have to big up Tall Black Guy for sharing this tune on Twitter some time last night. Taken from the second Tensei EP on Plug Research, this is one of two versions of Think Twice and it features Khari Lemuel on strings.

The Two EP is available on iTunes for only $3.99! And if that makes you wonder about the first one, you can listen to it over here!

Hawthorne Headhunters – Luv Galactic

California’s Hawthorne Headhunters new album is due on Plug Research and here’s a track that reminds me of those days when the Bugz in the Attic album came out.

Titled Myriad of Now, the album is available as of today on iTunes.

Bilal – Levels

Taken from Bilal‘s 2010 album Airtight Revenge, this video for the new single Levels was directed by (former film student) Flying Lotus.

In case you’re wondering, those are indeed Erykah Badu, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson and producer Shafiq Husayn in the video. Oh, you have to go elsewhere for the fullscreen video!

Label Love Vol. 2

International labels Tru Thoughts, Ninja Tune, Ubiquity, One-Handed Music, Melting Pot and Plug Research have teamed up once again to present a new Label Love compilation. Like before, the second installment will feature selected tracks from each of the labels – and will be available as free download.01. Hidden Orchestra – Wandering
02. Sonnymoon – Blast Off
03. Full Crate – Never Never
04. Paul White – Every Breath
05. Jed and Lucia – Painted Stars Refix
06. Bilal – Lost My Mind
07. Maddslinky – Ruled By Your Motions
08. Ahu – To:Love
09. Miles Bonny X The Ins – J Birly
10. Jono McCleery – Tomorrow

You can get “Label Love Vol. 2” from Bandcamp starting tomorrow, until then the link will not work.

Quadron – Average Fruit (BUG Remix)

I wasn’t aware that Quadron are running a remix contest, but then I found BUG‘s submission in my inbox and instantly fell in love with the track. Hear for yourself!

Other noteworthy submissions to the contest come from D’Stephanie, fLako or DZA. Many more can be found here and on top of that you can download the original version for free!

Exile – Radio Bonus

Exile - Radio Bonus

Cover Artwork

You’ve probably read about this on one of your favourite blogs, but I didn’t want to leave this free remix album by Exile unmentioned. It contains remixes from his 2009 album Radio on Plug Research, with the involvement of artists like Pollyn, Teebs or Dibia$e.

Listen to some of the tracks below or download the entire album over at Bandcamp.01. So We Can Move (Teebs Remix)
02. It’s Coming Down (DJ Rhettmatic Remix)
03. Population Control (Dibia$e Remix)
04. We’re All In Power feat. Lessondary Radio (Von Pea, Donwill and Elucid)
05. Frequency Modulation (Marco Polo Remix feat. Torae & Ruste Juxx)
06. In Love (Kan Kick Remix)
07. GB (Radio Medley)
08. Watch Out! False Prophet feat. ADAD & Johaz
09. The Machine (DaVinci Remix)
10. In Tune Static (Mike Gao Remix)
11. So We Can Move (Pollyn Remix)
12. Exbox Radio (Radio Reject – Bonus Cut)
13. OPERAtor Radio (Radio Reject – Bonus Cut)
14. Forbidden Radio (Radio Reject – Bonus Cut)
15. I’ve Been Dreaming of You (Radio Reject – Bonus Cut)

Also watch out for the all new Exile album “AM/FM”, featuring artists Blu, Fashawn, Shafiq Husayn, Samiyam, Free The Robots, DJ Day, Clutchy Hopkins, Evidence, Alchemist, Krondon, Muhsinah, Aloe Blacc, Grouch & Eligh, Take and many more! Release date is August 31, 2010.

Shafiq Husayn – Cheeba

Cheeba is the second single -or at least the second video- taken from Shafiq Husayn‘s acclaimed solo album on Plug Research with vocals by the one and only Bilal.

The video was directed by Kahlil Joseph, who is also responsible for Aloe Blacc’s I Need A Dollar video.

(via Moovmnt)

Shafiq Husayn – Lil' Girl

A preview was making the rounds some weeks ago, now the full video of Shafiq Husayn‘s Lil’ Girl featuring appearances from Erykah Badu, Talib Kweli, Jay Electronica, Thundercat, and Wood Harris is online.

The track is, of course, taken from Shafiq’s album En’ A-Free-Ka (iTunes link) and features Fatima on vocals. You can listen to the full track on Fresh Selects, where you can also get a download.

You might also want to check out some other videos from director Greg Ponstingl or visit the Plug Research page on Vimeo.

Carlos Niño & Friends – High With A Little Help From

Cover Artwork

Cover Artwork

There is no way I could summarize the work of Carlos Niño in just one paragraph. The Los Angeles based producer, arranger, composer and musician is involved in Build an Ark, Ninja Tune’s AmmonContact, The Life Force, What’s The Science? or Hu Vibrational.  His latest EP on Stones Throw payed tribute to J Dilla by interpreting his music with a full orchestra and was later performed live. Some call him a driving force of the L.A. music scene. With his wide repertoire he is surely one of the most gifted producers.

His latest work is titled High With A Little Help From and is put out under the name Carlos Niño & Friends. What started as a record session with fellow Build An Ark members, turned into a wonderful journey through analogue ambience and field recordings. Among the friends on the record are longtime collaborators Gaby Hernandez, Dwight Trible and Dexter Story.

High With A Little Help From is different of what I heard from Carlos Niño so far. While it’s closer to Build an Ark‘s sound, it does not have the soulful or jazzy feel. It’s an album shifting between folky and cinematic themes, almost entirely without the use of percussive instruments, and it’s not following any classic song structures. The richness of sound, its dreaminess, is created by a combination of analogue instruments, natural soundscapes and effects from the machine.01. Thursday, August 9, 2007
02. 9 Moons Full
03. With Azul
04. Ants and Elephants
05. Aquarius (Rough mix)
06. Lonely Joined By Happy
07. Rosarito/Creative Cries
08. Friends
09. 9 Moons Return
10. Rabbit Island
11. Wonder Wheel (CD-version bonus)

The album offers a set of reoccuring themes, atmospheric waves like the sound of the sea or that of children playing, stretching throughout the album like on a cinematic soundtrack. You will listen to this all over again, the album is not about its individual tracks, it’s the product of all of them. However, there are differences, ranging between an electronic, almost dubby track like Aquarius to an Elliot Smith reminiscent Rabbit Island, between the chants of Dwight Trible to peaceful harps and soft pianos.

High With A Little Help From is already available in Europe through Kindred Spirits on both CD and LP, an U.S. release should follow soon on Plug Research.