Egyptian Hip Hop – Tobago

Alongside Vondelpark and Bullion, Egyptian Hip Hop represent the more band-like artists among R&S‘ roster of dominantly UK techno or, erm, post-dubstep producers. The track Tobago is taken from their debut album Good Don’t Sleep and comes with the announcement for a European tour starting off later this month.

Lone – Lenticular Cloud

If you’re like me and time hasn’t been on your side throughout the year, this new Lone tune is just another reminder to listen to his last album, Galaxy Garden, released earlier in the year on R&S. After all, we both loved his previous one on Magic Wire – what’s wrong with us?

Anyway, maybe you’re just looking for any new Lone material you haven’t heard yet, as the track should be. Unfortunately, there’s no additional information on Lenticular Cloud, but we’ll keep you posted on that one.

Weekend Mixtapes

Several of these would’ve deserved a post of their own, but time wasn’t on my side this week.

One of the most exciting was clearly the new Four Tet mixtape Conference of the Birds, on which he plays two yet unreleased tracks. No tracklist, so happy spotting.

Second in the list is the new Lone mix. The occasion of this is the forthcoming album on R&S, but then any occasion is good as there aren’t too many Lone mixes around.

Anything from James Pants is worth taking a listen and so is this mix for oki-ni, “a collection of unique home recordings and rarities.”

I’ve already mentioned the new Sonic Router podcast on a side note, but being from Kelpe I don’t mind repeating myself here. Check it out!

And if you can take another hip hop flavored mix, why not give Jonwayne‘s XLR8R podcast a try?

John Tejada released a magnificent, yet somehow underrated album last year. He doesn’t play any of his new music on this Halo Cyan mix, but he plays some unreleased music from Appleblim, Al Tourette and Arkist – triple A!

I’m gonna sneak in James Murphy’s Boiler Room set without having listened myself, but now matter how famous he is, he’s always up for decent DJ mixes.

And lastly, here’s one I missed earlier. Back in March, LuckyMe‘s very own Eclair Fifi played some new tunes from the label on the Juno podcast.

Klaus – RSMIX001

Only a couple of weeks ago, Klaus released his debut EP on renowned Belgian label R&S. Now he’s back with an exclusive mixtape thats starts as a journey through ambient landscapes only to unload some thick dubstep tunes towards the end.

01. Airhead – Plastic Wind
02. Radovan Scasascia – Untitled
03. Evangelista – On the Captain’s Side
04. Mogwai – Mogwai Fear Satan (Mogwai Remix)
05. Tim Hecker – Whitecaps of White Noise II
06. Fennesz – Saffron Revolution
07. Bell Orchestre – Water/Light/Shifts
08. Klaus – Tarry
09. Loefah – Mud
10. Coki – Mood Dub
11. Set Fire To Flames – Esquimalt Harbour
12. Art Ensemble of Chicago – Unanka
13. The Olympians – The Rain Song

Get the download while available.

And if you don’t mind, let me also recommend you the otherwise unrelated Ritornell podcast on this occasion, as it features a quite similiar style of music.

James Blake – Klavierwerke (live)

James Blake played a concert at San Francisco’s Great American Music Hall last Sunday. Here’s a video of him performing the title track from his Klavierwerke EP, released on R&S last year.

You’ll find a couple of more videos on Sonic Ambulance‘s YouTube channel, including his cover of Feist’s Limit To Your Love.

Model 500 – OFI (Bullion’s Rivertrance Mix)

You might have heard it before, it’s been out for a couple of weeks now. We’re talking about Bullion‘s brilliant remix for Juan Atkin’s legendary Detroit outfit Model 500. And “brilliant” might not be the appropriate expression here, bananas would be more suiting for this psychedelic trip.

The Space Dimension Controller remix on the flipside goes into a different direction, but it’s none the less a killer for itself. You can still get hold of this 10-inch from about everywhere, we suggest you start at your favourite local record store!

Model 500 – Huesca

Here’s the b-side taken from the new Model 500 12-inch on R&S, the Detroit outfits first new release in over a decade. If you have any doubts about what a couple of mid-forties are still be capable of, this track should teach you a lesson in deep and powerful techno music.

On the a-side you will find OFI (click for a stream) in its original version and a remix by Mad Mike Banks of Underground Resistance. Thanks to the guys at XLR8R, you can download Huesca for free.

Pre-order the 12-inch from Juno or the digital release Boomkat. The release date for this is September 6th, 2010.

Pariah – Fabriclive Promo Mix

With the follow-up to his brilliant Detroit Falls / Orpheus out soon on R&S, young Londoner Pariah will play at Fabric on Friday next week. This is his promo mix to get you into the mood.

01. Redshape – Mucky Bones
02. Office Gossip – Var II
03. Untold & Roska – Myth
04. Breach – Fatherless
05. Steve Poindexter – Work That Motherfucker
06. Model 500 – Huesca
07. Braiden – The Alps
08. Pariah – The Slump
09. Four Tet – Sing (Mosca Remix)
10. Joe – Claptrap
11. Unknown – Unknown
12. Ramadanman – Work Them
13. Superisk – Find Your Way
14. Big Shot – Untitled
15. Aaliyah – R U That Somebody (Brenmar Windy City Mix)
16. Drexciya – Digital Tsunami
17. Oneohtrix Point Never – A Pact Between Strangers

You can download this mix over at SoundCloud, make sure to read this article on the Fabric blog as well. For more, you can always go back to the Pariah mixtape on Sonic Router.

James Blake – CMYK EP

James Blake - CMYK EP

Cover Artwork

If James Blake and Joy Orbison aren’t brothers, flatmates or lovers, then I don’t know. Whatever the circumstances are, CMYK has to be this year’s Hyph Mngo. You have heard it countless times already, but it hasn’t been officially available until today!A1. CMYK
A2. Footnotes
B1. I’ll Stay
B2. Postpone

If you ask me, this new EP is James’ best release since last year’s Air & Lack Thereof came out. It came out through R&S and is available on vinyl and digital release.

Better get your hands on this soon, I have a feeling it might be sold out quickly!

Aug 24, 2010 Boomkat has a limited repress on transparent yellow vinyl in store

Dec 27, 2010 Photographer Jan T. Sott created this magnificent photo using the cyan, yellow and magenta copies of the EP